Cycles render regularly failing

I’m relatively new to the 3D world and VERY new to Blender, having started in Cinema 4D. Not only did I make the jump from C4D to Blender, but also from Mac to PC-which has had it’s issues!

System info
Windows 10 Home
Intel i9-10900X
64GB RAM
2 x RTX 2070 Super 8GB

I’m really enjoying working in Blender-until it comes to rendering. I’m getting repeated fails with numerous settings. Most notably when activating Optix denoiser-I’m getting about a 50% success rate on renders there. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t-and I can’t tell any difference in the setup between when it does and doesn’t. Might fail and I’ll try again and it works. The failure seems to come at Building Optix Acceleration Structure… Then an out of memory error-but then, as I say, it might work when I try again.

My has apparetnly exceeded the limit of the GPU’s memory. This seems unlikely to me; to my mind it’s not an overly complex scene and I would have thought well within the 8GB limit. How can I check / reduce this?

Even without Optix, though, I’m getting regular fails with the following error message.

Invalid value in cuMemcpy2DUnaligned(&param) (device_cuda_impl.cpp:1244)Invalid value in cuMemcpy2DUnaligned(&param) (device_cuda_impl.cpp:1244)

Does this mean anything to anyone? I’m at a complete loss and banging my head against the wall, deadline looming, seemingly unable to render. Please help!

Thanks

1 Like

I’m watching this thread, as I’m interested in learning what the experts have to say on this topic too.

In the short term, if the Optix denoiser is giving you the most problems, try denoising in the compositor instead. If Optix rendering is giving you trouble in general, how goes it with CUDA? It’ll be slower, but if it’ll render, that’s a win. The same goes for CPU; slower, but you have a lot more memory available.

I have the most trouble with the memory limits on Eevee. Past my 11GB, and it crashes.