Cycles VRAM Usage Reference List

MOD: Perhaps this thread should be somewhere else. If so, please move it :slight_smile:

As a user of Cycles with the GPU, you always have to compromise between eye candy and VRAM usage. Even though I have tried, it is really hard for someone in a normal desktop environment and a simple program like GPU-Z to try to understand what it is that actually uses up the VRAM. And since I am no programmer, I was hoping someone with the understanding of Cycles or path tracers in general could at give us a basic understanding for how much space things actually take up :slight_smile: And, if possible, we could create a list of what each feature consume so it will be easier to plan your scenes in the future; to already know, depending on you amount of VRAM, how many polygons you can have, or how many textures of a certain resolution.

Polygons - Does every single polygon take the same amount of space? If I have 100 000 polygons, will that take up the same amount of VRAM regardless of structure and placement?

Hair - Is hair just normal polygons to the GPU? Could you could take the amount of polygons per strand, multiply it by the complete number of strands to get the number of polygons, and the the space required? Does children affect this in any way or are they saved in the same way?

Textures - How much does each pixel take up? What is the difference between using a 1024x1024 texture and one with 2048x2048? Do the number of textures affect or is it the total resolution that matters?

Settings - Are there any render settings that in some way makes the calculations extra hard or big, and therefor uses up more VRAM? The tile sizes, no caustics and all of those.

The Scene - Perhaps even certain light configurations or shaders could affect this?