Damage with melee weapons

Hi.

I’m working on a game where a character uses a staff. My question is,
what do I have to do to make the staff inflict damage only when swung?
Do I have to join meshes with the weapon and the character? Are the weapon and the character supposed to be separate objects? I’ve never done anything like this before so please fill me in.

Thankyou. :smiley:

For the bounding options for the staff, choose ‘ploytope’ and the game engine will use the shape of the mesh for collision detection instead of a sphere or box. Then add a property to the staff like ‘staff’ or ‘weapon’ and add to the enemy AI a collision sensor that reacts when colliding with an object possesing that property. Hope this helps!!!

,Jared

Your method works, but when the staff isnt swung, enemies can still take damage from just collision…

If you want damage to be inflicted only when swung, after you add the two sensors ( Keyboard, and Collision ) make an And controller type and connect them both to it…

This way the damage will only be taken if you swing AND come in collision with another property…

oh yeah, thanx… didn’t even think about it… :wink:

,Jared

Great help, guys. :stuck_out_tongue: I’ll try it. :slight_smile:

Wait a minute. By using Keyboard and Collision sensors, you make it so that it’ll only damage if you’re still holding the key down, so if you let go too early, nothing will happen. What I do is use a Timer property. When the key is pressed, it goes to -1 or something. Then I have the Collision linked with a Property sensor that only activates when the prop is between -1 and 0.

Ok, I think I’ve got it. I just need to know one more thing.
How should the staff ‘be’ in the character’s hands. Should I join the staff
mesh and character mesh together? How do I animate the staff while it’s in the characters hands if it is supposed to remain it’s own object?

Thanks again. :slight_smile: