dark artifacts in rendered model

I am new to Blender, but have about 10+ years’ experience in other 3D apps, including Lightwave.

I’m trying to get up to speed in Blender and making simple shapes to get my feet wet.

I’m noticing wierd black areas or splotches that aren’t remedied by the command for making sure normals are aligned.

the obvious guess is that I’m new to blender, yet I can’t see any glaring blunders in my modeling.

Any tips to get me back on track would be appreciated.

here’s a pic of what I’m working with:

http://www.coffeeonmars.com/dark_artifacts.jpg

on the left is how it looks like in modeling window…a basic cup. at right is a render after hitting F12. the stuff around the perimeter of the base is what I’m talking about.

Thank you!

rc

Remove any doubles (W) and check for any faces that are inside your mesh. Check the direction of normals, don’t just rely on Ctrl+N to recalculate them.

Richard

OK…I understand what you are talking about, but not sure how to go about that in Blender…

Do I need to be in edit>Faces mode and look for faces that seem flipped?

when I view normals in Edit mode, they all appear facing the same direction…

rc

Go into edit mode to look for internal faces. To show normals see the atached picture. If you have a problem, attach your blend.

Richard

OK…got that…all the Blue normal indicators are pointing outward; none appear flipped.

rc

well just go to edit mode as you said
select all vertices by clicking A KEY

then W- > remove doubles
after that
CTRL + N

(just try doing so , and see for you self :slight_smile: )

i think you have some loop cut at the bottom that made some small faces
that its hard to track the normal direction by eye

wow people are posting here very quick responses :slight_smile:

they sure are! you are right, I do have a loop cut…several in fact, which I made in order to hold some of the corners tighter…