Dark Phoenix - X-Men - WIP

EDIT:

Just to update - she’s now finished: The Dark Phoenix

Hi all,

So I’m starting a new 3D project - first one in a little while, and the first one I’ve posted on here in a long time.

Recently, whilst rewatching the original three X-Men films, I got some random inspiration to re-create a scene from the film. I’ve been wanting to do another character project anyway, so thought: Why not?

I’ve spend the past week working on a base mesh to use for this project, and future projects.

The results of which are here:

Nice clean topology too - and all ready to go and be used.

The first step of this project is working on the likeness of Famke Janssen.

I’m still pretty new to sculpting - especially people. This will be my first official time!

Here is where I’m at after about 4 hours or so:

There are things to fix on it for sure - but a good start, and I think the likeness is starting to come through.

This is going to be a big scene - so lots to do.

More soon! :smiley:

6 Likes

Another hour or two sculpting. I’m pretty happy with the general shape now, and am making smaller changes. I think the likeness is there - I can see it anyway, but then I’m probably bias.

I know I’m not going to get it perfect, especially on my first try doing a likeness study.

2 Likes

I made a few changes to the form, mainly around the eyebrows and mouth.
I’m pretty happy with where I’m at for now, and will probably let it sit for a few days, and come back to it. If anything seems overly ‘off’ then I can fix it…

1 Like

Hi all,

Back with another update. I’ve been working on the base textures for the head over the past few days. Only the diffuse and the displacement maps for now, as I just needed a clean starting point.

I used some textures from Texturing XYZ - which was my first time using them, but well worth the money.