DC Metro Station

I decided to try Andrew Price’s subway tutorial here.http://www.blenderguru.com/videos/create-an-underground-subway-scene-part-1-of-2

This is what I have so far. Some more modeling left and then texturing, which I am not very good at.:spin:

Attachments

I did that tutorial a couple of weeks ago, and it’s definitely great!

As for your model, it’s looking good so far. Some diferences from the ref picture, but I don’t know if you want to “copy” it, or just get the basic idea.

1 doubt:

• your “wire like” ceiling is with “holes” on purpose? Or you want to achieve something more like the ref pic? Which has some kind of glass, like an extruded cube (but extruded inside) :stuck_out_tongue:

Keep us posted and blending!

Cheers

Khell[PT],

The darker areas in the ceiling are actually modeled panels, not holes. I know, it’s hard to tell with the crappy textures that are in place! The material color just happens to match the “sky” color!

No, I’m not trying to replicate exactly, just an interpretation of the real one.

Thanks for the comments, they are appreciated.

Oh ok! I was just curious! It’s looking good man! Keep it up!

One day I might find the guts to post my project here, using the techniques Andrew uses in this one!

I’ll keep an eye on this thread!

Update.

Worked on some textures and added some geometry. I think it’s looking better.:eyebrowlift:

Attachments

Small update.

I’m having some sort of trouble with the AO settings. I tried adding a bench in the scene, just a cube and two cylinders, and there are a ton of black artifacts all over the top of it. Any suggestions as to why?

Also, the station markers on the platform aren’t reflecting the tile texture. No idea why.

Thanks.

Attachments

Small update.

Attachments

Looking good. Just one question: where are the lights comming from? The black posts?

Khell,
Yes, there are lights in the station id posts and the panels along the wall.

Cool, cool! Keep it up!