dedicated 2d animation software vs blender

I created many years ago a short film in flash and now I am serious in learning animation mainly 2d and perhaps some basic 3d to assist the 2d compositions. My background is film directing/editing and I would like to learn something with a not very steep learning curve, as I would like to produce a quality animation short as soon as humanly possible and start building a showreel with extra short (1 min) animations.

Currently I am learning toon boom harmony premium which has a lot of possibilities. I love TVpaint but as a one man band it would be too difficult for me to go the hand drawn way, so it is going to be mainly cut out/rigged/puppet animation.Another possibility would be instead of a cutout rig, to import line art in blender, generate the animation and color the exported image sequence in another application, as I have seen it done with blender. thoughts?

Recently I came across some relatively new possibilities in Blender for 2d animation. It makes me wonder which is the most efficient for me, especially if there are any advantages of using a 3d program like blender. Are there any?

thanks!!

To precise current situation, there is an addon to create Cutout animation in Blender.
Since last release, we can say that we have a solution to create half-hand drawn / half-3D edges animation with grease pencil.
We have an NPR renderer with Freestyle that is able to generate lines from a 3D scene.
And we can import SVG as curve objects.

But theses techniques are separated things.
There may be addons to create Grease Pencil stokes from an image. But I never saw one that was shared or publicly available out of a beta state.

About your expectations :

instead of a cutout rig, to import line art in blender, generate the animation and color the exported image sequence in another application, as I have seen it done with blender.

It may be a misinterpretation of what you have seen.