deform cage

Is it necessary to make a deform cage in order to animate?
I am wanting to animate a spider model I made. I am watching some tutorials on rigging, and a deform cage is being used in the tutorial, but I am thinking that a deform cage is only needed for smooth bending. (?) In the case of a spider, I do not think I care about smooth bending as the leg joints should bend rather sharply.

So, my main question is: Is a deform cage a necessary element of animation (i.e. can I animate without it?).

Also, any advice, tips are appreciated. This is my first attemt at animation, and you would know I would have to choose something as complicated as a spider!

I don’t even know what a deform cage is! Couldn’t you just use some bones??

Yeah. I am new to this. Just downloaded Blender (2.56) about two weeks ago. So I am kinda lost. I was just going along with what the guy in the tutorial was doing. Now, after looking into it some more, I am guessing I can just weight paint my mesh to the bones? Idk. Imma try that.
Anyone who wants to add something here… please do.

For a ‘first’ character, I’d just use bones and weight paint, you’ll need an armature modifier on the mesh to tell the mesh to be deformed by the armature. The deform cage you mention is a bit more of an advanced rigging technique that is useful for volume preservation, think ‘fat’ characters. It is really useful in places where you would want a smooth bend in the character mesh. Spider legs are thin and bend sharply at the joints, perfect for just using an armature & bones.

Randy

Randy. Hey. It was your tutorial I was watching! I am having some trouble, though. I made the model, textured it, made the armature.