Denoising with OpenImageDenoise per tile instead of full image

Hello! I am new in Blender, I am so old, I formerly used DBWRender, TurboSilver, Imagine on Amiga… :wink:

So here is my newbie question:
Denoiser: OpenImageDenoise - tile size for example 512 - Blender 3.0.1

Is there a way to tell Blender to denoise some rendered tiles while the GPU is rendering? The 2.9 versions did it that way but since Blender 3 it denoises the whole picture after it is finished and my CPU will get over 100° after the GPU (3090) put a lot of heat into the system while rendering.

Would be great if someone could give me an advice. Thank you very much, have a nice day.

Hi.

First off, it is not normal for the temperature of any machine to exceed the boiling point of water unless there is some overclocking going on (at least if you have proper cooling). You can actually do a few things to reduce hardware use by reducing the number of threads Cycles is allowed to use or switching to the power save setting in Windows’ Settings app.

If you care about the longevity of your hardware though, then please see it as an obligation to get the beefiest cooling system money can buy if an RTX 3090 is used (because the TDP of that thing is among the highest ever seen for PC hardware). If you don’t have that cooling system in place, then I advise avoiding a purchase of the upcoming RTX 3090 Ti unless you want to be running a fire hazard.

Thank you for taking the time to answer Ace_Dragpon!

Yws, there is overclocking and the CPU (i 6700K Skylake @ 4,4 GHz) is a very hot running CPU but normally it runs very ok under load. Cinebench and games etc. is no issue.

It’s only that spike while denoising when all cores are fully loaded and the GPU (3090 at 2 GHz stock, not overclocked) had heated up the system. I have very beefy cooling and a big tower with lots of air and Noctua CPU cooler and 3 added Noctua fans for additional airflow.