depth of field, defocus and z-masking - boo-berries!!

Ok, I’m new to 3d in general (and newer to Blender) and trying to wade my way through my first project. I have completed the models, materials, rigging and animation for scene one and have started to learn compositing etc. The shot is following a butterfly as it flies past and through a couple of trees. I have used defocus to generate DoF and now have run into the problem of my character (butterfly) going behind some branches that is also goes in front of (ie the tree is on a separate render layer).

After fiddling a lot I managed to get a working z-mask layer but the problem I am encountering is that with the defocus, it doesn’t seem to be wide enough to mask out the butterfly as it goes behind (screeny attached). I ran the z-mask render layer into a duplicate defocus so that it should be the same settings as the tree.

The idea of render layers perplexed me for a while, then I finally understood them; now I dread the problem of layers “interacting” along the z-axis. I asked my peers (maya people) and it seems in maya to deal with this you render a layer where the character has been assigned a special white non-light-receiving material and everything else gets a black one. This then creates a mask for the character. Sounds good (maybe a duplicate scene with new materials?) but thinking about it even that would have issues with DoF blurring wouldn’t it?

Blender’s z-mask seems more logical (and a lot easier) but how do you deal with the DoF issue?

Attachments

I dont think I understand it right, but I would create 2 layers, one with the enviroment and its lights, and other with the butterfly and its own lights. Then compose all the layers in the node editor and add the defocus node at last. It should work for all the scene.