desert eagle matte chrome

hey all!
I am trying to create a nice realistic matte chrome material for my desert eagle model. So far I don’t think I have accomplished much and that is why I am turning to you guys for some help. Any tips on how to improve the material are welcome.

I haven’t used any reflectivity so if you think it is necessary to achieve good results tell me.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]146375[/ATTACH][ATTACH=CONFIG]146374[/ATTACH][ATTACH=CONFIG]146373[/ATTACH]

I’d say add some roughness to the texture. I know it’s matte chrome, but it’s still a little too clean. Well, more accurately, what are you going for? A gun that’s been used before, or something fresh out of the box? If it’s supposed to be fresh and new, then you’ve nailed it, but if it’s supposed to look like it’s been fired a number of times, a little bit of wear here and there would do wonders, especially around the ejector port.

It’s be nice to age and wear it a little. The problem is I am not really good at it and and I don’t know how to get to it. Any tips?

Well, the polycount-friendly way I would do would be to add small amounts of wear and scratches to it through the textures. As for actually doing something to the mesh or something, you’d be better off asking one of the more experienced people, I’ve only been at this for a few months.

The mesh is complicated enough as it is. Some nice bump maps would be best to add a few scratches. I only don’t know whether to try playing with procedurals or rather look for some images on the net.

Hmm, I’ve built a Game model desert eagle, I think maybe removing the subsurf or whatever you have active that gives round edges. In my opinion the desert eagle was quite weapon to build, quite hard but I finished it.