Desk in progress - need criticism

Here is an absolute perfect replica of my desk so far:
its missing all the mess of papers and stuff but I’s working on it. The hardest part was trying to get the wood to look good, but its looks very similar.

Please I’m a beginner and this is my first attempt at some serious work, i need some constructive criticism. I know the mouse needs work

Attachments

It’s looking really clean. I don’t know what it is, but it still feels very artificial, perhaps some minor bump mapping for some wood grain and maybe a little AO to get better lighting to enhance what you got so far.

Well like I see there’s no shadow in the whole scene? Don’t know why, but you should fix that. And trying to use ambient oclussion maybe? For the table you should add a normal/bump map, that’s pretty easy, you find great tutorials for that on youtube or blenderguru.com!

For a beginner it is good modelled! Just try to improve the lightning as said and the texturing. Maybe add some papers on the table simply by creating a plane, add a paper texture and deform it a bit and then duplicate it a few times! Just some ideas :slight_smile:

You have shading problems. I don’t know if the specularity is the cause, or if it is improper modeling. You cannot have hard corners if the object is set to smooth. You need to bevel the corners.

okay i added some papers to the desk and im gona work on the bump map tomorrow, which is going to be entirely new to me .

Set the diffuse texture to also affect the specularity.
that should help a little.

Ok i added some paper and post-it-notes. Now i have a problem no matter how much light im putting, there are no shadows at all, whats wrong? what setting or something is preventing shadows?

Btw any comments on the cables? i spent quite a while getting those to look realistic.

Attachments

Are your textures set to shadeless? Any way you can post your lighting setup? like the post-it and papers, looks good.