Destructible materials?

Does the game engine or the standard animation physics engine have built-in destructible materials?

For example, could I create a plane with the properties of wood, then create a sphere with the properties of iron or lead and drop or launch the the “cannonball” through the “wood” plane resulting in a unique penetration and splintering pattern every time?

Or would I need to model a hole in the plane, then fill in the gap with pre-cut pieces for the cannonball to break through?

Or maybe I could model a hole in the plane, then fill it with a single piece that fragments with a particle explosion effect?

I’m just starting out with the game engine and trying a few tutorials, and I thought this would be fun to try if there is built-in function for this kind of thing.

Thanks for your advice.

That would be incredible, but unfortunately, this is not Star Wars: The Force Unleashed.
You’d have to go with:

“Or would I need to model a hole in the plane, then fill in the gap with pre-cut pieces for the cannonball to break through?”

Okay, thanks. I’ll stick with the old-fashioned way. I wasn’t sure though. Blender is pretty amazing and has lots of surprises, so I never know what might be possible.

haha yea the force unleashed came into my mind too :stuck_out_tongue:

Well, I wasn’t really thinking about that at all. I don’t even have a console. I was thinking about breaking wood walls or wood crates. I’ve been playing with simple tutorials to knock things over, like a wall of bricks, but I was wondering if someone had come up with a physics script for shattering or piercing objects.

And I also saw this thread:

Kai Kostack’s Blender Demolition Script & Tests

You never know what someone might have come up with.

Something I do: