Developing Rendering scheduler - need your help

Hi Blender Community,

I am a grad student in computer science at the University of Miami, and I am wondering if some you from the Blender community can help me with my current project by sending me some of your Blender projects.

I am working on a script that analyzes a Blender projects to predict how “long” they will take to render on given computer. I think this script will benefit our scheduler for our network renderer.

I am trying to gather a collection of Blender projects that I can use to test (and teach) our emerging heuristic. While I certainly can create my own projects to test the system, the problem is that I generally use similar rendering settings when I create my own Blender rendering, andI want it to be more general purpose and it should work on projects created by a variety of users. In other words, I trying to gather projects that reflect the rendering settings that Blender users have in the real rendering projects. And I think I can only get that by asking others for their projects.

So, if you have any projects that you could send my way, that would be great! ([email protected]) I am looking for projects that are all set to capture rendering times with my test/learning system. Your help will certainly make my program more complete (and I promise not to share your projects with anyone). Also, until 2.5 become stable release, we will be developing the system from 2.49 internal renderer.

At the end of the day, I hope to make the script public: a simple python script that could run within blender to get a sense of how certain parameters might effect the rendering time. But, the particular use will be for render farms schedulers (sending hard projects to faster computers and easier projects to slower computers). If the project goes well, it will of course become open sourced.

Please contact me with any questions, and thanks in advance.

Adam

[email protected]