Difference between the object's origin and pivot point?

Hi
I am a new 3D artist and a self learner. I have done some sculpting and retopology for a few months now, yet most concepts are pretty new to me. I was using the boolean modifier for the first time to join a hand model to my sculpted body. I selected the hand, added the modifier and selected the body. I applied the modifier and deleted the original body that was duplicated. Then I went into sculpting mode to realise the ‘symmetrize’ option was not working properly because the pivot pont of the model was changed to the pivot point of the hand instead of the pivot point of the body. Then I set the 3D cursor to world origin and the object origin to 3D cursor, only to realise that it did not solve the problem. Then I spent half an hour going through various options trying to set the object origin to the world origin/center of my model’s torso. Nothing worked and then I found the option to manually move the pivot point, which took me around 5 minutes to rotate and grab to put it in the exact centercenter as alt+g and alt+r were unusable on the pivot point.

While I won’t make the same mistake with the boolean modifier again, I have two questions:
a) what is the exact difference between object origin and pivot point?
b) Is there a simpler way to set the pivot point to world origin? (Masking method won’t work as it does not change rotation of the pivot point)

This was asked only a week or two ago and covered well, do a search in the forums and you should get the answer there

Take a look here, they are good for getting faster into blender without annoying hours of “why it is not working, why it behaves so wierd” :slight_smile:

1 Like

The object origin is the proper technical term used in Blender, otherwise the pivot is more like an idea.