Differences between Cycles Render, Yafaray and Lux Render

Hello everyone.
I’ve just started working on my thesis that will be about differences between Rendering engines, but I’m basically new to Blender except for a little project I made for an exam.
My supervisor told me to create the same scene with Cycles Render, Yafaray and Lux Render and compare the result between the three. I’ve searched on the internet some manuals and guides, but I’m not really sure about the differences.
If I’m not wrong, both Cycles render and Yafaray are based on raytracing, but what about Lux Render? I’ve read that it is “unbiased” and it can handle the scene in a physically accurate way, but I really can’t understand what are the deep differences between these three engines and how they will affect my scene.
Can someone give me some tips?
Thanks for your time.

All three of them are raytracers (every modern non-realtime engine is). All three are physically based renderers, which means that they solve the light transport equation (as opposed to Blender Internal, for example).
The difference lies in the light transport algorithm they use: Cycles is a forward path tracer (aka unidirectional path tracer), LuxRender offers a lot of algorithms (Path Tracing, Bidirectional Path Tracing, ((Stochastic) Progressive) Photon Mapping, Vertex Connection and Merging etc.), Yafaray has Photon Mapping iirc.
Cycles is unbiased (as long as you don’t use options like clamping), Lux has both unbiased as well as biased modes, Yafaray is biased (at least if it uses Photon Mapping).
Also, of course, a difference are the supported materials etc. Moreover, they are different in lots of implementation details.