Different settings for different render layers?

Hello. I’m a bit new to blender and was wondering how to do a few things with render layers and the node editor. Is it possible to have different settings for attributes per render layer? For instance, if I want to have raytraced ambient occlusion on one layer and approximate indirect lighting on another layer and composite them together in the node editor, will I be able to set different gather modes for different layers? I’ve also used Maya, and there is an option in Maya to set layer overrides for pretty much everything and I was wondering if Blender has something similar. Thanks.

If I were doing something like that, I would immediately and voluntarily plan to do this using separate Blender runs … generating individual “MultiLayer”-format output files from each one. (You can set up the master blend-file, then start linking to it from others.)

My main motivation is that, once I have done one thing successfully (especially if that’s a time-consuming “thing”), I don’t have to re-do it. I can check that one off my to-do list and focus exclusively on the next time-consuming thing. Once all of the inputs are finished, I move on to the next step of compositing them together … and so on.

Also, I would delay those time-consuming operations until the last minute. Especially if you’re doing an animation, I’d do “preview renders” (with the 3D window button) until I had everything just the way I wanted it, and only then begin to replace the files one-by-one with their “actual” equivalents … rendering only and exactly those frames that I have determined that I need.