Difficulties With Basic Unwrapping and Texturing

Hello,
I am fairly new to Blender, and am trying basic tasks to find my way around the program. My most recent goal was to do a very basic uv unwrap and basic texture. I looked at 2 different tutorials to attempt this. Both gave similar advice for marking seams and unwrapping, and I was able to follow the action to that point. From there, however, I have gone astray. In one tutorial it mentioned creating an image texture node and linking that to the texture node, using an image-prepared in Photoshop- as the color for the object texture. I tried this and was unable to see the mapped texture, though nt nodes seemed to match the video’s pretty well.

So, I tried a different tutorial just in case there was some hidden step that the first failed to mention. This one was framed much the same way, except that instead of loading the image from the disk in the image texture node, they loaded it in the UV edit window, then unwrapped the object so the sections matched up with the prepared image. Again I got as far as the unwrapping, but then my results began to differ and I again failed to see the mapped texture.

• I have included my main screens from Blender to show what my setup looks like.

-Also, these are the two tutorials I was endeavoring to follow.

I am sure that this is not a complex question, and that it is a small detail that has led me astray. Still, I am stumped. Any help I can get to cross this crucial bridge would be much appreciated!

For some reason you’ve cropped your second image to cut out the rest of the blend er interface (please show all of it since you’ve cut off an important part of the screen)

In your top image you are using the cycles renderer.
In your bottom screen it looks like you are using a mix of some material nodes for the Blender Render engine and nodes for the cycles render engine (if you had not cropped your screenshot I would know for certain).