DirectX Export Question

I’m very new to Blender but I’m curious how I can get my models to export with a correct ‘Up’ axis. Currently when I export and then import into my development environment within DirectX my model is lying on its side.

I’m fairly certain this is because in my environment ‘up’ is the Y axis and in Blender I notice its the Z axis. Withouth manually rotating all my models, isn’t there a way I can export with Y being up or some kind of .X file editing I could do?

Any help is much appreciated and a belated Hello to everyone, can’t wait to get in on Blender and the discussions!

-If I know which version you are using, can try
to rotate the world matrix in order to match with
your engine?

Ben

I’m using the most recent version of your Exporter available from some URL’s on this site.

Appreciate your hard work and help…

Okay I’ve found out that I’m using this script:

DirectX8Exporter235.py

In the script it says its version 1.0

Thanks!

-This is a version with the world matrix rotated on
x-axis for 90 degrees,in order to put y-axis instead
of z-axis.(it’s done in lines 50-59)I dont know if this
works for your engine,anyway I’ve put in the
above lines all matrices which rotates in all axis.

http://xoomer.virgilio.it/glabro1/DirectX8Exporter235-rotated.py

Ben

It looks like beta and I’m gonna guess gamma as well are undefined variables so its not executing properly.

Thanks though, something tells me this will work.

-Oops, that’s my fault I haven’t defined them.
Put before line 50(49) these two lines:

beta = 0
gamma = 0

beta and gamma are not used at the moment.I’ve
used them if you need to use other rotations

Ben

Hmmm… now it doesn’t know what m_x is =)

:expressionless: :expressionless: Line 61:

mat_flip = rot_x * mat_f

instead of:

mat_flip = m_x * mat_f