DiveInto: DNA System

Hi guys, what i intend to do (and hope other people will do for other parts of the blender code) is to write a small introduction to how the DNA system works.
I will refer to files in source, so i suppose you have an up to date source (here you can find how to download it using svn). Note that what i’m going to write is not granted to be corrected, this is what i understood from reading the code, and i’m still learning. So, i if someone knows it better than me, or see some errors, or whatever, post it down here and i will correct it :slight_smile: [Little note: if you have installed doxygen and you generate the documentation for blender is much easier to move from code to code to understand where things are declared or implemented, defined, assigned, what function reference to what, etc…] Since i still don’t know A LOT of the stuff in this system, everyone that have something to add don’t hesitate do post it here.

So, let’s start!

The files we are going to talk about are in

\BlenderSVN\blender\source\blender\makesdna\
\BlenderSVN\blender\source\blender\makesdna\intern\

Inside

\BlenderSVN\blender\source\blender\makesdna

you will find the definitions of the various types, like armatures, camera, object, scene, etc… This are all headers. And so, where this headers are included? The answer is in

\BlenderSVN\blender\source\blender\makesdna\intern

Here you’ll find dna_genfile.c and makesdns.c.
First of all let’s explain a bit better what the DNA system is.