do i need a material to render?

Please don’t kill me. I know this is a basic question. But it is very specific.
I only UV mapped my object. I have applied the texture.
When I render the texture doesn’t show. Everything, is… gray.
Mind you, I have not made a material or anything… never touch the stuff (its game models. in fact, in my year+ of using Blender this is my first try with rendering. All tutorials talk about materials, but these are useless for me. I don’t need them ordinarily.) The objects are just UV texture mapped.

So, is it possible to get the textures to show up in this situation when I render in Blender? If so, how?

thank you.

Well by UV mapping, all you are doing is telling Blender where to map X image, whatever it may be, onto these points of the model, but you havn’t given it an image to work with. The image you load into the UV editor is mearly a reference, like for modeling in the 3D window, that allows you to easily see where the points have to go.

Add a material and name it whatever you wish. Add a texture. In the Map Input tab, select UV. Then, in the texture buttons, load in the texture you want as an image. You can either ask, or search around if you have any other questions. There are tons of UV stuff laying around.

-Laurifer

thanks for the reply :slight_smile:
so i HAVE to use a material? the image is applied to the object already. i can see it in the viewport. i can look at the textured object in the game engine by hitting P.

is it that the camera cannot see the texture without a material?

add a material

hit the TexFace button

enjoy

where is this TexFace button? I have heard of it in legend, but never seen it in the interface.

===ah wait!. i find it … once i make the MATERIAL!

haha. :o

so… okay…
why are there two ways of applying a texture in Blender?
some historical reason? or some functional reason? (that’s probably like asking why is the grass green or the sky blue.)

but more importantly: