Do you Feel you're not getting better?

Hello everyone, sometimes I get this feeling, even upon on all the studies and projects it’s as if I won’t get better past a certain point…Do you experience this?

How long have you been trying to practice?

I always do it… Currently I’m working on some studies

My advice would be to push your comfort zone. Jump into a project that seems a little outside of your ability level. Not too far, if you decide you want to make a Pixar level feature film in your spare time, you will be disappointed and discouraged.

But find your personal edge and press against it. What’s the one thing you shy away from? For me it was UV unwrapping. I got stuck trying to limp along procedural textures for a long time until I decided I needed to push myself. I’m no expert unwrapper, but now I can do it when I need to.

3 Likes

Yes, I’ve definitely gone through that phase. Multiple times. For me, I tend to get stuck doing the same things over and over that I’m comfortable with.

This recent video has been useful in getting me to push out of that habit.

I’ve also found that planning NOT to post stuff online has helped. I can still post stuff later, but I start by assuming that I’m the only one that will ever see it. That way I don’t feel the need to do my best. I can instead just fail at things I’m not as good at until I improve.

1 Like

One of the most important things you can do is do your work with a conscious awareness of what you want to improve. If I’m drawing/painting/sculpting a face, I want to be aware of the things I’m not good at, and one at a time improve those features. It’s important to be a critic of your own work so you can find what you can do better. Of course, don’t be too hard on yourself, it takes time to become better at these things. Take small steps when learning.

1 Like

Good advice…Thanks
I usually do characters… perhaps I’ll try a different approach to them or a sort of character I haven’t done before

Thanks for this @xrg