Docs are a mess - Newbie point of view

Hi Gang,
First off, I will say I am a total beginner to Blender software (I have done bits in Real 3D and Bryce). The initial layout screen to blender is a mess, stuff going on all over the place. I appreciate that I will get familiar with it once I find my way around and find some good videos.
My problem is that the documentation has not kept pace with the development. I know the gang have great things waiting in the wings that they want to get on with, but if a beginner cannot follow the documentation because it is out of date with what is on the screen, they may just give up and loose a great deal of pleasure.
A case in point, I have just loaded in Blender 2.57. The first thing I look for is the Manual, I find this Overview rather complex, but keep reading. I then come to the Juicy bit - My first Object, yippee.
The snag is, Its all been written for V.2.49, not 2.57 ! What happened to the re-writes for 2.50 to 2.56 ??? I appreciate you cannot do all of the document updates, some may not need it, but certainly your very first tutorial needs to be bang up to date.
I loaded up Gus the Gingerbread man tutorial and started working through it. My numpad functions did not work, my F9 function did not work (UK keyboard setting). I managed to subdivide my body cube, then had problems finding the Limit selection button, then was not sure if it was in active state or inactive state.
I tried removing my vertices, but ended up with deleted boxes (inverted L shape). I could not find my Mirror option at all.
To put it bluntly, It was not a great success. No doubt I was probably doing something I should not have done, or missed a step out somewhere, but to say it did not fill me with confidence is an understatement.
Maybe I should download v2.49 and try something in that while they update the Documents ?