Does anyone have any recommendations in terms of hardware?

Hey everybody,

So I’ve been blending for over three years now, and recently I’ve noticed that my laptop is starting to show signs of its rather intense use… on top of which, it’s specifications are (from what I’ve read and seen) hardly the best out there:

Toshiba Satellite L300
Intel Pentium Dual Core - 1.8GHz
3GB RAM - not sure as to it’s speed or type
398MB Mobile Intel 965 Express Chipset Family graphics
…oh, and good-ol’ Windows Vista Home Premium, which is rather RAM-happy and a bit annoying from time to time.

I bought this one three years ago now, and at the time it was amazing (I was upgrading from an old IBM A22E with 20GB HDD, 128MB RAM, 0.8 GHz processor and Windows 2000 :o)

Now, what I’m looking for, really, is something that’s more powerful but not too expensive; an all-around Blending-machine computer that would allow me to explore any aspect of Blender I want, without having to wait for hours when I render a 360-frame, 1.5M vertex scene with only Clay materials, or have the Game Engine crash at the slightest provocation because my graphics card is crap, or potentially melting the circuit boards when rendering short Smoke sims :o
For example, when working on my NES project, the 3D viewport was very slow when I enabled all the layers, even with no subsurfs at all.

I’ve been looking at this particular model and, as far as I can tell, it’s a pretty good setup, but again, I don’t really know if it would be adequate considering my limited knowledge of this stuff.

http://www.futureshop.ca/en-CA/product/gateway-gateway-intel-core-i5-2300-computer-dx4850-43cu-dx4850-43cu/10164624.aspx?path=a453e38d36d880a78178c856593af61den02

Any of you have any recommendations of your own, within that price range? (600-700$ Canadian) I saw the Cycles Benchmark thread, and mpan3’s system specifications look awesome, but…it probably cost a lot.

Thanks!