Does Blender have built-in depth of field?

Hi. I’m studying the “rendering” chapter in the Blender user’s manual (the old 2.3 one), and I arrived on the section about depth of field. According to what the material says, Blender doesn’t have specific depth of field features, but it could be achieved with some motion blur tricks. I wanted to know if this particular section was outdated (like the part about using envmapping to achieve reflections rather than the raytracing features we can all enjoy now). I’m going to learn the old method too, but if there’s some new depth of field feature I’d really like to know about it. Thanks,

-Anayo

DOF is in the next version of blender that is comming out soon ,You can get a cvs version of blender if you want to try it now, see this thread link>http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=85028

I read on one of the pages in these forums where the coder of that node admits that it is still a work in progress. Many who have used it also express dismay that it is not the easiest node to use. I have found it to be the easiest way to crash Blender on a Windoze machine. Still, it is very intresting and fun to use. Just don’t pull your hair out if you aren;t able to achieve the results that you would like. You can use it to litterally “Shatter” your objects on a pixel by pixel basis…Very COOOOOL!

Ah! Thanks. I’ll be there for the next release of Blender so I can play around with the upcoming feature. For now though I guess it’ll be camera tracking and motion blur for me. ~.-

You could get a CVS build. :stuck_out_tongue:

And Rambo, I’ve used it on windoze by micro$hitty$0ft (lol extra dollar signs!~1 I am a genius!!) and I haven’t crashed once. I dunno if it works great on ‘lunix’, but I have no complaints.