Does pc specs affect blender's performance? (sculpting)

Hey guys, I’m pretty new to this blender thing, and I’ve been looking arround for others “lag” when sculpting, didin’t find much.
My question is when I’m using dynatopo, but this isn’t using much of my pc mem/cpu/gpu and it still lags, is this normal? Given that I’m new to this sculpting thing maybe I’m just putting too many details but just wanted to know for sure. Does the number of tris affect the lag?
Also not sure the difference between colapse edges, subdivide and subdivide colapse, i thought they had a performance difference but sometimes they don’t.

Sorry if this too much of a noob question. I tried using both 2.79 and 2.8 more or less the same result maybe i’m doing something wrong.

In regards to the question in the title, yes of course pc specs affect the operational performance. In terms of this lag you mentioned it could be many things, a bit more detail would be useful.

You say that it isn’t using your system resources much, but there might be cpu or gpu usage spikes, rather than looking at the averaged values instead looking at the peaks and valleys of the utilization chart would be much more useful.

What is your poly count? Note that Dyntopo will lag at high poly count, with my low spec pc i got lag at about 300k-500K, over 500K it is unusable. So the workflow will be: sketch something with dyntopo ( put only secondary details) then retopo, after that use multires for fine details.

Thanks for the reply, I think my problem comes when I use a big brush, both grab and for example clay strips get slow to unusable when my brush is the size of my mesh (testing on a cube subdivided x2)
On the numbers, 200k tris and over start showing the problem consistently.

You are correct the spikes hid from me somehow, I’ll tweak my workflow a little. Thanks.

Hi.
What is you OS?

And your PC specs :slight_smile:

Windows 64
Rx580 (8gb)
Ryzen 5 2600
16 Ram