Does this script exist?

Hi, I’m fairly new to using python within Blender, and I’m wondering if there’s a script out there that would “hollow” out a shape. Say for instance, you have a free-form box and you want the walls of the box to have a uniform thickness all around. The problem is, I’m not sure what such a script would be called. I’m sure someone has already written a similar script, I’m just trying to find it.

hi BANZ111,
look the script “solidify selection” in edit mode menu-mesh-scripts

That didn’t seem to work right at all…

in blender2.45 i’ve just made a cube 1x1x1 and in edit mode started this script after selecting all vertices - it works fine.
What is the problem?

I’m also using 2.45. Try it with a cone: Notice how at the bottom, the width between the inner and outer shape is not the same as the space with the rest?

This is what I think the algorithm for the script should be like:

Step 1: For each face in the mesh, calculate face as extruded from the normal of the primary face. (Extrude each face straight out)

Step 2: For each new face in the mesh, find the point at which each edge would intersect the edge of the neighbor face. (Visualize the line as being infinite in length)

Step 3: Merge the vertices of these faces at these intersections.

In theory, this should work. I have thought up another version that was quite a bit more complex maybe a month or two ago. However, I don’t know jack about Python, so I wouldn’t be able to script it. Also, finding those intersections may involve a tiny bit of math. The advantage here, is that each wall would, by itself, also be a mesh.

Not sure if this is what you are looking for but:
http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=101034