Domain ID protection not all it's cracked up to be?

Hey guys, I have been considering getting my own domain, with ID protect. I did a little research into these ID protect services, and found that some of them are unreliable, even unethical. I am more worried about stalkers, than spammers, personally, as I have had plenty of past experiences with them, and it appears that all that is required for such a person to obtain my identity in some cases, is, simply asking, or making a false allegation of copyright infringement or abuse. A friend of mine actually had to move, after a stalker repeatedly trespassed on his property, and attempted entry. I actually witnessed this first hand on one occasion. Death threats, threats of violence, and other threats are something I am all too familiar with. I cannot risk my personal information being compromised by an irresponsible service that offers only limited protection. Other than just using a subdomain, instead of a domain, any thoughts on how to procede? I suspect I am screwed until the law gets changed, regarding domain privacy, and I hope that it will.

Yeah - some folks on the 'net are quite irresponsible. Pays to be careful.

Go get yourself a post office box so they don’t have your home address.

…and a shotgun if you’re that worried about stalkers breaking into your house.

They will hassle you if you give false information as I found out when the management company of a band that wanted my domain name complained about the only contact information being a fax number in Afghanistan but the registrar just sent an email saying I needed to update it or else.