Don't buy Dell

I have been fighting with dell for 3+ years,
they have replaced the same defective hardware, with the same defective hardware, 3 times,
and now it has failed again out of warranty.

I have tried one last email, and if they don’t fix my laptop, I will never buy dell again, and actively discourage all from purchasing from them.

the machine works great, until parts fail from a stock overheating issue, even with a secondary laptop fan, and a well cleaned dust trap (I mean heat sink… DEEP INSIDE THE COMP)

They have known about the issue since about day 2 of selling the dell 1558

Again DON’T BUY DELL

http://forums.cnet.com/7723-19680_102-396926/dell-studio-15-1557-1558-plagued-with-failures/

and to make things worse, before I had diagnosed a failed Vram,

I had to eat this egg- http://superuser.com/questions/138512/why-does-ati-5570-hd-video-card-driver-installation-cause-windows-7-to-blue-scre

At every step, windows update, dell driver update, Ati driver update, BSOD’s and hours of frustration.

I wonder if I ended up lucky when I bought an XPS machine 6 years ago, I almost never had a problem with it and it’s still running smooth as ever with Windows 8 (it’s been my father’s work machine ever since I got a new Lenovo rig with an Ivy Bridge chip).

Then again, I never tried to overclock it or do any interior upgrades (new GPU ect…), so at the least I can say that I was one who had a good experience with Dell.

I can’t replace or upgrade my GFX.

:expressionless: they are soldered on, and controlled by a intel dual gfx something or other,

So it’s 350+ usd to get a nvida motherboard… with another integrated GFX, or all my parts are useless.

:frowning: