Download Blender Night Builds automatically - Shell Script

I always want to have the latest version of Blender in my machine so I wrote this script that automates the process of downloading and “installing” Blender Night Builds.

Since I’m a total noob in scripting it may contains mistakes or maybe there are more efficient or flexible ways to do the same thing. So if any of the more experienced guys out there have any suggestions please post a comment.

It’s tested and works OK under Linux Mint 17.1 on a X64 machine.

With a slight modification in paths and in Blender version (if you’re on 32bit) should probably work for you.
I have no idea how this could be achieved under Windows but I think something similar could work for Mac.

You can also add it to you cron jobs (or even anacron) and it will update automatically (though I haven’t found a way for the pop-up message to show)

EDIT! :
IMPORTANT! As “Brian Hanson” mentions below you should first create the directory where Blender should be extracted.
I didn’t originally mention it because i supposed that you already have a directory where you extract all the programs that run locally and don’t need installation.

EDIT!:
If you add the script to your cron jobs and you want a pop up message to inform you that everyting run correctly do it like this:

#Downloads and nightly builds for blender
00 12 * * * env DISPLAY=:0.0 /home/<username>/<path_to_Scripts>/Blender_Night_Build_Downloader

It’s the “env DISPLAY=:0.0” that does the job!

#!/bin/bash 

#a script for automatic download of blender night builds.
#Originally is tested and works under Linux Mint 17.1 X 64
#with slight modifications in can work for your needs

#Goes to the Blender Buildbot and Downloads the proper package
wget -P ~/Downloads/  -r --no-parent -A 'blender*linux-glibc211-x86_64.tar.bz2' https://builder.blender.org/download/

#Extracts the downloaded package in a specified location