Dragon mesh

I’m pretty new to 3d modelling and Blender (I’m still in that “it can do that?!” newbie whirlwind). I’ve been mucking around with a dragon, based loosely on the artwork I remember from my AD&D days (many years ago) and it’s got to the point where:
a) I’m not totally embarrassed by it and
b) I need some feedback on what to do next :slight_smile:

The textures are quick and dirty procedural textures, with the exception of the eyes which are based vaguely on the Pixar eye tutorial and actually feature an original bitmap™ :).

http://blender.sixmonkeys.geek.nz/view_album.php?set_albumName=Nexus6

Any observations on things to fix are welcome. And if anyone has any views on how to approach texture-mapping something like this (OrCo style like Enrico Valenza or LSCM-based UV mapping?) that would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Toby

I think you’ve done a good job on this, particularly the texture and the head. One problem I see is that the style of the head isn’t really reproduced in the rest of the body. The body is just too simplified and un-stylised compared to the head.

Also, the sharp edge on the its head looks too sharp, maybe you could smooth this out a bit.

Hey I think the modeling is fine the only crit is that you might want to take the base of the toes and move it back further that way the claws look longer and the actual foot looks a little shorter.

Actually, at one point the body was a lot more complex. In fact, far too complex - I had made the mistake of going nuts with the knife tool and ending up with a massively complex collection of triangles that really didn’t work particularly well. A bit of reading and a lot of fiddling later merging vertices cleaned the mesh up a lot.

Is it better to put a lot more detail into the mesh? Or should I think about having a detailed normal map to indicate texture. Reading through modelling tutorials, there seem to be two schools of thought.