Dragonbane rider

Greetings folks.
It’s my first thread here so please, forgive me introduction. Name is Radoslaw, I am a 3d artist (suprise oh suprise) with a bit more then 10 years of working experience under my belt, most of it in games development. I’ve been working with Maya but recently decided to move to Blender. Reasons ? Obvious and quite common I guess. I got like 6 or 7 unsuccessfull tries behind me- first one was around… 6 years ago or so but somehow it did not clicked between me and Blender at that time. Maybe I was just too inexperienced… Anyway- here is a little project I started to learn basics of Blender- a character on dragon-ish monster, based on little tabletop miniature from system that by now is probably dead but used to have quite popular- Chronopia. I begun with simple cube, made basic mesh, rigged it, posed and now I am testing sculpt tools.

http://erka.ovh.org/Misc/chron01.JPG

Welcome to Blender Radoslaw!

It’s nice to see experienced artists discovering Blender. i’m sure you will like it.

that dragon is very nice, Your skills are clearly visible. But this dragon is a night creature, it doesn’t have eyes. That is a bit scary.

Cheers

A really nice creature model to start out with. The experience is clearly visible. Although I would label this definitely a dinosaur and not a dragon. Hey what about creativity and make instead of a “dragon rider” ( YADR ) a dino rider for the change? :eyebrowlift:

Thank you for watching and for comments,guys, you are very kind to a newbie. To answer a question- I must admitt I did not paid much attention to taxonomy :). Here is original miniature, I found an rulebook for this system and it named this creature as “dragonbane” whatever it is.

http://erka.ovh.org/Misc/chron02.JPG

Regarding eyes- it’s actually more my laziness then anything else- because creature will wear this headgear thing (helmet ?) that covers eyes I decided to just leave them. No point in modeling something that will be hidden, neh ?