Dragon's Rise Forgotten Realm WIP Marble dragon realm

Hey blenderers, it’s good to be back to Artstation challenges ( https://www.artstation.com/contests/dragons-rise-the-forgotten-realms/challenges/160/submissions/67397 )
this one certainly wasn’t easy in my mind ( initially ) since fantasy, dragon and magic ? All of that sounds highly organic and organic modeling is one thing I’m still learning. But with the time constraint I had to fuse some styles for time optimization. Also painting, drawing,… like great concept artist isn’t my forte so this challenge will be a chance for me to explore more methods of art creation.

So to have a nice set of images, I’ll need a backstory first, that will help me shape the world in the concept greatly. The story I want to use is quite simple:
“A prosperous civilization where magic and technology blend in together, held upright by the fusion of aesthetic dated back in the time of ancient Rome, fairytale-like structures and a hint of the modernized world”
The setting of the first scene is about an ancient marble and gold body dragon found in a dusty, run down ancient temple. The dragon was brought back to life and became the center point of a ceremonial parade later, he meant a great deal to this society since he signifies wealth, prosperity, strength and magicraft.

The plan for the second shot will be about the temple the dragon was found in, but it is subject to change, since I’m in focus of building the first scene now.
SCENES ARE DONE !

Second scene WIP

First scene finished

5 Likes

Aw YES, progressing pretty nicely and the best thing happened today was this cool volumetric effect I managed to untangle from the 3 hours mess of node building. The material is for a magic effect magically lifting the table.

Progressing further into the scene with more elements, I’m going to add a few more lively element into the scene like fabric objects, cloth,…

1 Like