Drawing cartoon canines and perspective

I’ve been trying to work on concept art for my cartoon canine characters, but it’s been difficult since I am not good at perspective, particularly with drawing eyes and faces. I would like to know how do I get better at drawing a cartoon canine character from different perspectives, the face being the biggest issue.

There’s a subset of cartoon artists that have devoted themselves creatively to canine characters- furries. In my limited experience with them, they’re generally quite happy to talk about their art and share information about it. I wouldn’t care to generalize about any group of people, especially with the limited sample set I have, but the few furries I’ve known have always been friendly and forthcoming.

If you are brave, I would google things like “furry art tips”, “furry art tutorials”, etc. From what I understand (and to be honest, I understand very little about this community), this may lead you into some unsavory places if you’re not cautious, so just be mindful of what you’re clicking on and maybe use SafeSearch :slight_smile:

1 Like

I do know how much NSFW furry artwork exists. However, I am thankful to have Google SafeSearch as my default filter. And by the way, the way furry character heads are drawn is like how the heads of my winged quadrupedal canines look.

I shouldn’t be very different than drawing a human head in perspective / volume .
And that goes down to drawing simple volume shapes : cubes , spheres, cylinders. It takes a lot of practice to get confident with it once you know the basics.

But in the meantime, you can always cheat a bit, like making a rough 3D models and use that as a base to draw on top of that.
Try to model basic shapes and draw the details.

You can also work in different step. Draw a side view if you’re confident with it, then do a base 3D model and draw on top of it for the other angles.