Drawing huge lands

I’m drawing a large landscape and here are my problems:

I know that selecting part of a mesh and pressing Pkey will make a new mesh but how is the reverse done: Selecting 2 meshes and making it one. I sometimes forget to stay in edit mode and thus the newly created plane is not part of the current landscape ( I can’t select vertices from the new plane and the existing one in order to use Fkey to create a new edge/face or shift Fkey to fill an empty area).

The other problem is with lights. I keep using a spot light for each square because this light makes really nice shadows. Is there a way to stop the light from losing power with distance? (Just like with a sun) I’m assuming that the sun is an ambient light which does not lose power over distance.

Finally is Blender the correct tool to use for drawing huge lands (10+ monitor screens in width and height).

I’m a programmer who sadly does his own art. But I’m making a free game and it’s hard to find help when there is no money involved. :wink:

Visit my website to see my only 2 and freeware games.
www.heroesgames.net

In object mode select the 2 meshes and press ctrl-j. If its a real time 3d opengl or directX type game the game engine does the lighting. If you are doing something ala starcraft (3/4 isometric) put your camera into “ortho” mode and render 1 or part of a screen at a time and stitch them together in a graphics program. The distance value in the lamps sets the falloff. There is a trick that people some times use of dupliverting (arraying) a whole bunch of spots to a mesh to achieve very even lighting with spot shadows. Or use a sun (no shadows on) and spots (only shadows).

GreyBeard

Sun Power

About 1 KW / Sq-Meter at the Equator
About 400 W / Sq - Meter up North at latitude 45 - Canada - US Border

So The sun does loose Power with distance - It is a point source of light. Except its a big one

Function of 1 / Distance^2 ( Exponential 2 )