dual-boot?

so i’ve never used linux before, but i’ve heard very good things, so i’m looking to have dual-boot capability in my next pc. I’m just wondering, are there certain hardware requirementsi need to meet, such as two harddrives?

frankly a single 250 gig hd would last me long enough until i raised some more money, so instead of a second hard drive, I’d opt for a more powerful videocard

(no matter what, i believe i’m gonna end up with a core2 extreme. That’ll be niiice.)

You only need one hard-drive, you just need to put Linux on its own partition. Make sure Windows is installed first, otherwise it might try to overwrite Linux.

right, anywhere that really explains that more in depth?

thanks a lot though

[edit] oh and mods, if you could do me a favor and move this into off-topic, i thought i was posting there, but too many elysiun tabs in firefox is a little confusing.

Dual booting with one hard drive is a bit more complicated than using two. If you are not exactly sure what you are doing, remember to backup.

Detailed instructions can be found here:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WindowsDualBoot
and
http://users.bigpond.net.au/hermanzone/p3.htm

I always recommend Ubuntu, so this is to install Ubuntu Dapper. Good luck with the installation. You won’t regret switching to Linux.

Before drop, look at what an opensource operating system is, what are the outcomes.
Cause, i read you’ll get a powerful video card, unfortunetly it risks to be your first pitfall (especially ATI), and to understand that, you have to know what opensource is, what’s a patent etc…

Are you really ready to spend time on it? Are you able to search by yourself? It could be silly, but it will avoid to you a lot of disappointment cause you would have chosen for wrong reasons.

WinXP is already correct, suck’n but it run :), so why to change? You’ll get more problems than else.

or get a Mac (or MacOSX) :slight_smile:

cheers

Ok just want to say you prob wont read this…