DXF consisting of 3DFACE

(janne_ph) #1

I’m not normally working with this type of stuff so forgive me for my incompetence.

I need to export dxf files consisting only off 3DFACE “elements”, and i’m now wondering if this is possible to do with blender? Right now I’m drawing in autoCAD and then exploding the model to get these elements so that I can import them into a simulationprogram I’m using, and it’s a bit of a hassel. I have no experience of blender or python scripts.

Please help me! // Niklas Philipson Sweden

(mzungu) #2

To clarify: you want to take your Blender models and get them into your simulation software via DXF, correct?

What success have you had using the current standard DXF export command (File -> Export -> DXF…)?

(janne_ph) #3

Thats correct. When I use the normal export procedure like you describe my simulationprogram finds the file but it is unable to show the model. I can view the dxf models that I currently use in simulations in blender. They show in blender as what I would describe as shell elements which are not connected to each other and there is no nodes. If I export the same model it doesnt work either.

by the way 3Dstudio is unable to open the dxf files I use in simulations but blender can.

If you need more infomation I am goning to try to explain more, but I am not so good at it.

(mzungu) #4

AFAIK, there are no settings for Blender’s DXF export function - you basically take it as it is. If you must use that format, perhaps investigate (search for) other python export scripts which may produce more compatible output.