(Early) Demo Reel

I don’t really know what the rules are for making a demo reel. I’ve never done it before. I don’t know if a demo reel is supposed to just be all the animation you made in one year or what.
This is not that. Nor am I looking for a job in the animation industry, so it isn’t really a resume.
Instead it’s more of a retrospective of most of what I’ve done up till now, entered in more or less chronological order.
Mostly I did it to map where I’ve been, where I’m at, and to take stock of what I want to do in the future.
I never intended to become an animator before I found Blender. I didn’t think I could. My mother’s mother was the visual artist in the family, and I always figured I picked up more from my father’s mother, an English teacher and writer. Words were always my thing, and writing is what I studied in school. But, with Blender, I realized it could give me the power to bring my writing to the screen. That’s why I endeavored to become an animator.
Looking at this, I’m not satisfied. Yes, a lot of these were primitive, or even work in progress. Unfinished.
But it makes me want to aim for something higher in my future work. From now on, I’m making longer films, more cinematic, more dramatic. More story.
But this is where it started…

https://youtu.be/BXqE-1Y0U5A

You lost me at drill baby drill. Politics and BA don’t mix…

That was the first animation I ever made (before I ever knew what BA was…)

First animation? Good job. My first was a cube moving… (I did not mean anything bad with my earlier post)

No, Place, I get it. I’ve said myself recently that BA is a terrible place to discuss politics. People get ridiculous pretty quick, and then the whole thread gets locked before you can spit.
It’s a bad place to talk about it.
But I do think that addressing the politics of the day is an essential role of art.