"Easy one" but sadly need help. Random expanding/contracting without scaling certain faces

Hello.

I wonder if anyone can help please.
The question is two part.

1. As part of a sci-fi turbine/engine, I’m am trying to open and close the forward points of this object, without them changing shape, or increasing/decreasing in size. While the back of the object is stationary.
    Is there a way to lock certain faces so they dont alter size/shape etc?

2. I would then like each “spoke” to (again) open and close in an erratic random mode, like shaking with the heat from the jet thruster of the engine it will be attached to.

Is there a way to achieve this without having to manually setting each spoke in a position, applying a keyframe, rinse and repeat?.
Which will only result in the same pattern happening as the animation ends and starts again.

Appreciate any help.
Andy.

why not trying to rigg it !?

1 Like

Hello and thank you so much for the reply.

I’m relatively new to Blender, and animation. And haven’t (As yet) done any rigging.

I also didn’t consider rigging, thinking a simple “open, and close” animation, while keeping the same shape would need to be rigged, is that the only way please?

Also would that overcome the “random” shake, movement of the spines? without having to do it manually.
I’m not sure if there is a procedural, or automated arbitrary modifier for animating parts.

Thank you again for any help.:slightly_smiling_face:

its ok

to be honest i am not a pro, but i know that ther are 3 ways of doing this,

1st way, is by animating the parts one by one, "thats if thy are individual objects "

2ne way, is if thy are all intact as one object, and using shape keys, but it might not be great , because it might change some size in the process

3rd way, is by rigging, and setting a bone foe each part, and just animate them,
it dosent matter if thy are one object or not,