Edge/Extruding Problem

Hey there
I’m relatively new to blender and am working on project.
Ive created a boat so far and have come to a problem. The Rail or barrier on the deck is only 2d. (no thickness) I am unsure as how to go about giving this a thickness. I tried extruding but it creates empty faces on the opposite way to which i extruded. (ie if extrude inwards on the boat, you can see into the wall from the outside.)
heres a image of the wall.

Any ideas on how to give it some thickness? or do I have to remake the wall :frowning:

Ps. I’m assuming the way i’ve modelled certain faces are hideous? I’ve done modelling for the source engine(game engine) and it hated wierd faces that intersect. Will this make a big deal in rendering within blender? or was it just that engine that freaked out at it.

Thanks in advance! :slight_smile:

Hi nossie, you could alwyas use the Solidfy Modifier to give thickness. There’s also Inset Extrude Script available, that Extrudes along the normals. :wink:

I’m currently on my second boat model and suggest the use of mirror modifier (which you used), subsurf and solidify. You also might like to consider modeling the wall, duplicating the top-most edge loop, splitting it into its own object, increase the thickness on the solidify and then after applying solidify on both (rump and rail) rejoin it.

It looks like part of the railing is extruded directly from the boat (close to the camera), and some is separate parts? Extruding edges from surfaces is seldom a good idea.

It doesn’t necessarily affect rendering, but… all sorts of stuff just works better if you avoid that situation.
That’s actually exactly why your extruded rail becomes “empty”. If you do the same with a “free-floating” railing, extruding would work fine.
So if that’s what you mean by intersections, you’re right.

If you mean overlapping geometry in general (the mast and internal railing), I wouldn’t worry about it.