Edge loops

These questions will sound very noob-like (i’m a noob to blender).
1.What are edge loops?
2.Why are they so important?
3.How to “make/create” them?
4.(Connected with the 2nd) Why do they exist?

Thanks for help!

Oh, I’m really sorry, wrong forum… Can moderators move it to the Blender General forum, please?

sure…did it!

welcome to Blender world!

:wink:

I think this is far enough back into the archive to justify republication of the original questions.

It seems that people are making custom meshes using edge loops.
Now, if only one of them could give some hint as to how they are created in the first place, or link to a post/tutorial that gives this information, I would appreciate it.

follow the link to the modelling thread in my signature or do a search for torqs head modelling tutorial.

http://p212.ezboard.com/fnendowingsmiraifrm3.showMessage?topicID=135.topic

%<

Thanks … bookmarked.
Am I correct in thinking that “edge loops” are always created from other objects, rather than having any construction method of their own? I.e. Forget about drawing segmented curves.

I will have to re-read the threads to be sure, but it seems that there are some problems…

1. In Blender 2.28c, Ctl+R = R = Rotate. Loop cuts don’t seem to exist.
    Ctl+LMB = LMB = gestures for S and R.

2. I can find no evidence that Blender has anything to do with edge loops, beyond my ability to imagine them. There is no such thing from Blender’s POV.

I think my version may be too old, dangnabbit!
[edit: I’ve just been reviewing the changelogs. Oh yeah, I’m way behind.]

heeey, that post on that other forum was quite interesting! helped me a lot as well!! :smiley:

Am I correct in thinking that “edge loops” are always created from other objects, rather than having any construction method of their own? I.e. Forget about drawing segmented curves.

No