Edit mode tutorial on youtube

Hello Blender people, I would appreciate it if you would check out my intro to Blender video. I am kinda new to this program but have years of experience on 3D Max. This video is designed to help with the basics of Blender’s edit mode, explaining some simple tools to help you in your modeling endeavors and thier quick keys. Thank you for your time…CommonRabbit

Just a few notes.

1. Thanks for the Ctrl-Alt-Z tip; I didn’t know that
  2. Loop Cuts are almost always done with Ctrl-R, rather than the toolshelf
  3. Hitting E and then right clicking doesn’t cancel it; it leaves the extruded faces exactly where the original face was.
  4. I suggest using screencast keys addon if you make future videos (it’s included in Blender)

(Note: I skipped around a bit, so these might not be entirely accurate.)

If you are doing these as a re-enforcement of your learning then it is fine. But if you are doing it for others, then there are way to many ummm’s and uhhh’s. I think key in Blender (and most other graphic applicaitons) are the hot keys. I would stress them. I took an advanced aftereffets class and the best thing I learned was any time you used the menu to do something, use the menu, find out what the hotkey is, then do it with the hot key. Also I agree with using the screncast keys, and get a better mic.

All that being said, your tutorial was as good as most are not including the people that do tutorials for a living.

What place57 said.

I wonder if we should have a “Work in Progress” tutorial forum so people who want to do tutorials can publish rough drafts and get critique?