EEVEE ARTEFACTS shadows + lights inside mesh

Hi there! newbie here, I’ve just moved from maya to blender, and I’m having some problems with eevee.
My shadows and lights create some ugly artefacts (they seem pixelated?) that I can’t seem to be able to fix.
Also, the lights influence even very well hidden faces of the geometry, that should be darkened by AO+shadows but are in fact very well illuminated.
I’ve tried every parameter I could think of both in the lights and in the render setting, but nothing worked so far.

link to the scene:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1UeP5lPgk4CX7FHxmIBy4Ntyc8KjyRWnn

Working in Blender 2.81 on Windows with a Nvidia GeForce RTX 2080 Ti

(I also have a few problems with flickering/noise issues while rendering a camera animation of the same scene, will create a new topic focusing on that)

For shadows, in render tab you try increasing Cube Size and increasing mucho more Render Samples for better soft shadows. Also, look for a strong and small-sized lamp over there. Increase the lamp size/radius to not get such a hard shadow.

For lights going through meshes, you try different settings in contact shadows for each light/lamp, especially those that you intuit that could be causing the problem (for example the called “Light RIM orange”)

I’ve figured out how to solve the lights inside mesh issue: the geometry PROJECTING the shadow (not the one receiving it, in case they’re separate) needs to HAVE A THICKNESS (the depth of the thickness itself is important: if it’s too thin the light will still “pass through”).

This is the solution I’ve found, but it creates a lot of problem for a rigged character: avoiding overlapping geometry in animation becomes a thousand times more complicated… So, if anybody finds a workaround solution, please tell me!

Light RIM orange:
Light RIM orange
Light RIM orange.002:
Light RIM orange.002