Eevee slowed by 90% or more

Your patience with the noob is much appreciated. When I started with Blender a few months ago, I challenged myself to render a nice watch animation. It was my first animation render, so I had no idea how long it should take. The link is at the end of my rambling. It took about 2 or 3 seconds per frame to render. That was Blender 2.83. Now I’m up to 2.92. Eevee seemed really slow, so I went back to my old watch and re-rendered that animation. Now it takes over TEN TIMES as long. Same settings. 2020 iMac, 72GB of RAM (Photoshop guy by trade) I have gone back to 2.83 and it takes even longer to render now. I’m beyond confused. Throwing myself on your mercy. Here’s the animation: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qIo-7C4fNUY

What is your GPU? You watch with an external vRAM monitor app the vRAM usage of the GPU. When Eevee falls out of memory, render times are greatly increased.
There are many reasons why you may be using more vRAM now than before, for example your OS using more vRAM for some reason. Or now trying to render at a higher resolution than before (The higher the output resolution in the render, the more vRAM is necessary)

But to find out more about what exactly the problem might be, you should share with us a .blend file where you have problems.

Thanks much for your expertise! GPU is AMD Radeon Pro 5300 4 GB. I’ve tried switching to CPU, to no avail. Cycles shows me memory usage in real time. Eevee doesn’t. Strangely, Eevee is now no faster than Cycles. It was exponentially faster before. Let’s see if I can find that file… DOH, I found it but can’t upload because I am a new user : ( I’ll see if I can put it elsewhere and link. OK let’s try this: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1_JyA9b-LfreANzTRJGjZfAFYWDCfb9nR/view?usp=sharing