Eliminating Graininess in Video

I finished and posted a video here: http://youtu.be/6IbNTX9UDwM There is too much graininess in the background. Today, I attempted to fix the problem by getting rid of an hdr background image, deleting a sun lamp and replacing it with an emission plane. It’s better. But still, the only way I can get rid of the graininess to my liking is by also rendering at 400 or even 500 samples. On my computer one frame took four and a half minutes to render. The video has 3000 frames. Can someone tell me why I am having graininess problems? Also, is there a way to fix this problem without having to render each frame at 400 samples? I am a beginner, so hopefully there’s an easy fix.

Render after my attempts to fix the graininess problem:

http://i1130.photobucket.com/albums/m539/Blanco111/Works%20in%20Progress/help1_zpsb270fab9.jpg

Blender file:
http://www.pasteall.org/blend/25122

There’s a very easy fix. Use The Blender Internal render engine which would be ideal for your subject matter in my opinion and animating it. Nice clip albeit maybe a minute to long. The grain is referred to as noise by the way. Try a spotlight if for some reason you have to use a raytracer. Also use Limited Global Illumination in the dropdown menu and set the Bounces to: Max: 4. That should help and get you started. But, to see render times around 1 minute means going to Blender Internal.