Emit, Radiosity, and UV Textures

I recently started getting into using UV-mapped textures and radiosity. I’m making a model of a room, and it’s looking pretty good. One of the walls has two windows on it, so, after applying separate color and normal maps, I added a map that masks the window portion to white, the rest black, and then set that texutre to affect the Emit value. It looks nice, but I don’t think it’s actually emitting in the sense the Radiosity needs.

For example, I added a mesh to the room as an overhead light, and set it’s material Emit value to 0.2. When I render, I see that the radiosity is being calculated. But when I turn it off on that “light” and just stick with the emit that’s coming from the window, nothing seems to get processed. The windows look brighter, as if light would be shining from them, but it doesn’t have an effect on the room.

Like I wrote above, I’m really new at radiosity, so let me know if I’m missing something incredibly obvious.

Maybe the normal vector of the window points in the wrong direction.

I’m not 100% sure, but I’m pretty certain that radiosity works only off the emit value on the material, not the emit value in the texture (as your test shows!)

So I think you need a separate mesh for your window emitter. You could try this: create an emitter mesh just in front of your windows - if you turn the alpha on the new material to 0.001 (as low as it will go but NOT zero) and click z-transparent the new mesh will be invisible but should still emit light for the radiosity calculation.

Okay, I’ll give that a shot. I did find that my normals were pointing in the wrong direction, but changing them to point the right way didn’t affect anything. So, I’ll try the mesh trick and report back.