Energy saving lamp

Hi,
I wanted to deal with the challenge to render an energy-saving lamp, both switched off and on.
Here the results. I modeled the tube and the screw using a CAD software, while the white base and the stage are modeled directly in Blender.
I used Yaf(a)Ray 0.1.0 as render engine (see attachments).
The modeling is not much detailed, I just wanted to care about the glass tube.
The switched-off version took twice the time of the other, due to over-dimensioned anti-aliasing.

Any comments are appreciated.

Attachments

It looks pretty realistic.
I just can’t understand the lighting in the second image - it creates a weird texture over both the floor and the lamp base. I’d expect something much simplier - just that areas closer to any part of the bulb would be lighter.
Maybe it’s caused by a low simulation quality? I have no experience with yafaray, but the DOF looks also a bit under-calculated.

Thanks!

I just can’t understand the lighting in the second image - it creates a weird texture over both the floor and the lamp base. I’d expect something much simplier - just that areas closer to any part of the bulb would be lighter.
You are right!
I didn’t enable the “Transparent shadows” option.
Here is the same image with “Transparend shadows” enabled (and “fake shadows” option enabled for the tube material).

I have no experience with yafaray, but the DOF looks also a bit under-calculated.

I have a very little experience with DOF, maybe I should increase quality.

Thank you!

Attachments

Those images look quite good, though shouldn’t the light coming from the “on” lamp be much brighter? I also have no experience with Yafray, but the image in your last post looks a little grainy. Probably increasing a sample rate somewhere would fix this. Otherwise everything looks very realistic (to me, at least :)).

it looks cute!!!