Enigma Machine (WIP - Challenge #791)

[EDIT]
I upload the final image here to update the thumbnail :wink:
(Tell me if there is another way)

[/EDIT]

Hello there !

I’m new to BA, here is my introduction where I was saying that I hope I will find some time to have some personal blender projects… Well, I’m trying right now !

As I asked in this topic, I’m doing a short WIP on the current WE Challenge.
The theme is Serendipity, which made me think about a 2014 movie I just saw, about the Enigma Machine, The Imitation Game, because the only way to find the code is to try random patterns and find it “by chance”. In addition, they could manage to solve the problem due to unexpected mistakes from the germans… etc…

So I decided to create a scene arround this. Maybe if I have time I will try to model a Alan Turing Bombe in the background. But for now, I’m focusing on the Enigma Machine itself.

The project is just started, but I’m going to try updating the WIP as much as possible.
Here is the current state :

You might think it’s weird to make a render so early, but I like to have a very quick render just after beginning the modeling, to have a global idea of where I’m going. Even if all the texturing and lighting part might change later… I’m not happy with the “crocodile like” bump texture on the black part… I’m will definitively find some better texturing later (see the images refs at the end)

Wire :

Clay : (Bevel + Subsurf)

Some ref images :

Much left to do… See you very soon ! :slight_smile:

++
tricotou

3 Likes

Entry looking great so far! Though i’m a relative beginner i’ll let you know what I think.

-Ease down a bit on the bump or maybe tone the glossiness down as it seems a bit intense.
-The texture looks like it was a seamless texture repeated many times (which im sure it was), but to avoid that look I like to add a lot of surface imperfections (scratches, fingerprints etc.)