Evolutionary Design, anybody?

Hi!
I am currently studying a masters program in complex adaptive systems and have happened upon evolutionary design. I was thinking about building a blenderscript for that but first I wanted to see if anybody here knows if it has been done before. Not any use doing it then.

I was thinking of evolution of poses. The script would modify the pose (rotation, position, scaling) and give you 9 different poses to chose from. According to that choice, 9 new poses would be created and so on.

Does it sound in any useful? Anybody has any suggestions?

You mean like a random movement of objects?

If you were to do it to an Armature, or somehow use it to effect a character’s mesh then it might have some use.

I think you get my point but actually it is quite the opposite. There is a common misconsception that evolution is random but it’s far from it.

You do have a random part in evolution (mutation) which adds new genetic material which of course is very important but choosing what mutations that you let into the next generation is far from random. That is done in relation to the fitness of the individuals. This fitness value is in normal evolutionary algorithms computed in relation to the problem at hand but in evolutionary design it is set by the person watching (it is enough to choose the best one and therefore classify that as having better fitness than the rest).

Of course I am simplifying it here (you also have crossover) but you get the idea.

My idea was to use it on an armature that in turn effects a mesh. This way it is easier to control what the algorithm is allowed to change. You also reduce the dimensionality of the problem hugly (almost from the number of vertices to the number of bones). And that is quite important since it effects the time it takes to do the evolution a lot.

I guess it could work on an organic mesh also with effects similar to the sculpt tool.