Expert problems

(Hirpo) #1

:-? I hope someone can answer these questions:

-Why mp3-files don´t work in exe-games?

-My textures wont draw correctly. they´re too messy.        They don´t  slide smoothly from color to color, they are too sloppy.

It´s driving me NUTS!!! Help!!!

(Riskbreaker) #2

Now Im no expert, but i think i know something here:

-mp3s wont work unless you save the output as a dynamic runtime

-Texture’s ‘slopiness’ may be due to jpeg compressions…maybe…:slight_smile:

(wiseman303) #3
  1. What RISKBREAKER said.

2. The game engine seems to run in 256 colour mode. If you have an image that has a gradient in it, like a sky picture, it will have obvious bands of colour in it. This is because the image is being converted into 256 colours by the game engine, and all those in between colours are being lost. Try not to have too many gradients in your textures, or use lots of noise to cover up the transitions.

(Pooba) #4

No, the game engine can’t run in only 256 colors, there has to be at least 8 bit color in there. That’s why all of the vertex colors can be assigned, and there’s a bunch of those colors.

About the mp3 thing, i’m having some trouble, i try to import an mp3, but it says not a valid file. All of the files i’ve tried say that. What’s up with it?

Pooba

(Pooba) #5

I discovered something! You have to have the key file installed before you can add mp3’s into the game.

Pooba

(saluk) #6